And the winds shifted…

storm

There are days when I look out the window in front of me, and I see the coppery leaves on the trees in the bright shining sun… and it looks beautiful out.  It makes me want to drop everything I am doing and get outside – because I love being outside in the beautiful weather.

And then… sometimes… I step outside and it isn’t beautiful at all.  It is sunny, but it is incredibly cold and windy, and it is actually spitting rain or about to hail or worse, even though the sun twinkling through the window was telling a different story.

That’s disappointment.  It is a let-down.

So on days like today… when it looks SO beautiful out… I’m torn about whether I even want to be outside.  I do want to be outside if the weather is how it looks fro inside.  But I almost don’t even care to go out because I feel like I maybe just setting myself up for disappointment.

This made me think about relationships… mostly because I am often thinking about relationships…

Relationships often look different through the window than they are when you actually step into them.  They can severely disappoint you once you’ve taken that step toward what you thought was going to be good for you.

Even if a relationship is not what you initially thought, it still might be good for you; even if it is cold and windy, I still might need to go for a walk outside.  I am still going to benefit from the walk.  It’s still good for me.

Sometimes, we can tell that the weather will not be good for us from the window and make a decision to avoid it before we even step outside; the same is true for relationships.  I think this might, occasionally have us missing out on relationships (or on beautiful days) because… just as the weather can be misleadingly bad compared to what we see, it can also be misleadingly good.

Sometimes, we can’t tell whether the weather is good or bad from the window… we have to actually take a step outside.  We need to step into something to know whether it is good or bad for us.  This happens with relationships all the time – I think this is the best kind.

The kind that terrifies me most though… the kind that disappoints me most… the kind that makes me want to avoid ever stepping foot outside again… is when it is bright, and warm and sunny… and you head out for a walk or on a run… and half way through, when there is no chance of turning back… the skies open, the winds howl, the weather shifts, maybe there’s even a twister or two… and there is no chance for shelter.  None.

When this happens, the only thing you can do is huddle in the middle of an open field, completely vulnerable, completely exposed, and hope that the storm skips you somehow.  Hope that you are not injured, somehow, beyond repair.  That the storm will eventually pass.

Hope for survival.  That you’re going to be okay.

One thought on “And the winds shifted…

  1. This>>>Sometimes, we can’t tell whether the weather is good or bad from the window… we have to actually take a step outside. We need to step into something to know whether it is good or bad for us. This happens with relationships all the time – I think this is the best kind.

Leave a Reply

